Merge duplicate clients from your client list

Your team members can request duplicate client profiles to be merged — you can review these requests and decide if it makes sense to combine client profiles. 

You can also directly merge clients from the Clients page by selecting clients, building the new profile, and reviewing your choices. 

Note that merging clients will create a new profile that will include referrals, attachments, and screenings from the original profiles. 

This tool will most likely affect you if:

  • Your team has guest screenings enabled.
  • Your team manually adds clients. 

Review a request

At the top of the Clients page, you’ll see a large dropdown. Click Show Requests to see your team’s merge requests. Click the blue Review button to open a request. 

On the Review page, you can see more details: 

  • The proposed new profile’s demographic data. Click the Show Edits toggle to show and hide your team member’s edits. 
  • Additional information, like who created the report, the original client profiles, and any notes your team member added. 

On the right side, you can see buttons to approve, edit, or reject the request. If the proposed profile is missing demographic data, you must add them in first before approving the request. 

Approve a request

If you decide to approve, click the blue Approve button. 

A popup will appear, and you can add an optional note for your team member. Click the Submit button to merge the clients. 

You’ll know if it’s successful your team’s client list is updated. 

  • The original profiles will be hidden. 
  • There will be a new client profile listed.
  • On the new client profile, you’ll see the updated demographic data. You’ll also see referrals, attachments, and screenings from the original profiles.
  • Additionally, whoever created the request will get an email notification. 

Edit a request

If you decide to edit the proposed client profile, click the blue Edit button.

You’ll be redirected to a page where you can edit the new profile’s demographic data. Your team member’s choices have been pre-filled in the New Profile section. 

  • To add data to the new profile, click the tag. You’ll know if it’s successful if the tag appears in the New Profile section.
  • To remove data from the new profile, click the X icon next to the tag. Note that gray tags can’t be added or removed. 

You may see gray tags for the following reasons:

  • There is an External ID, which can't be modified.
  • The clients have the same demographic data.
  • The clients are missing the same demographic data.

Click the blue Review button to take one more look at your edits.

When you’re done, click the blue Approve button.

A popup will appear, and you can add an optional note for your team member. Click the Submit button to merge the clients. 

You’ll know if it’s successful your team’s client list is updated. 

  • The original profiles will be hidden. 
  • There will be a new client profile listed.
  • On the new client profile, you’ll see the updated demographic data. You’ll also see referrals, attachments, and screenings from the original profiles.
  • Additionally, whoever created the request will get an email notification. 

Reject a request

If you decide to reject a request, click the red Reject button.

A popup will appear — select a reason for rejection and add an optional note for your team member. Click the Submit button to finish.  

You’ll know if it’s successful your team’s client list remains the same.

  • The original profiles will still be shown on the client list. The demographic data, referrals, attachments, and screenings will not change. 
  • The original profiles cannot be reported again.
  • Additionally, whoever created the request will get an email notification. 

Merge client profiles yourself

Scroll to the bottom of the Clients page and click the blue link to start. 

Select the two clients you think should be merged. When you’ve added a client, you’ll see a quick summary of their profile. 

Click the blue Start button when you’re ready for the next step. 

Build a new client profile from the original profiles — this is very similar to editing a merge request. 

  • To add data to the new profile, click the tag. You’ll know if it’s successful if the tag appears in the New Profile section.
  • To remove data from the new profile, click the X icon next to the tag. Note that gray tags can’t be added or removed.

You may see gray tags for the following reasons:

  • There is an External ID, which can't be modified.
  • The clients have the same demographic data.
  • The clients are missing the same demographic data.

Click the blue Review button when you’re done building the new profile. 

Click the blue Complete button when you’re done reviewing the final client profile.

You’ll know that the merge is complete when you see an updated client list.

  • The original profiles will be hidden. 
  • There will be a new client profile listed.
  • On the new client profile, you’ll see the updated demographic data. You’ll also see referrals, attachments, and screenings from the original profiles.
Did this answer your question?